## Minutes of the Sixth Asian Physics Olympiad Pekanbaru (Riau, Indonesia), April 24<sup>th</sup> – May 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2005

**1.** The following 16 countries were present at the 6th Asian Physics Olympiad:

Azerbaijan (6 students + 2 leaders), Cambodia (8 students + 2 leaders + 3 observers), China (8 students + 2 leaders + 1 observer), Indonesia (8 students + 2 leaders), Jordan (7 students + 2 leader), Kazakhstan (8 students + 2 leaders + 2 observers), Kyrgyzstan (2 students + 1 leader), Laos PDR (2 students + 1 leader), Malaysia (8 students + 2 leaders + 1 observer), the Philippines (2 students + 1 leader), Qatar (6 students + 2 leaders), Singapore (8 students + 2 leaders), Taiwan (8 students + 2 leaders + 1 observer), Tajikistan (2 students + 1 leader), Thailand (8 students + 2 leaders + 1 observer) and Vietnam (8 students + 2 leaders + 3 observers).

Two countries were present as observers *i.e.* the *United Arab Emirates (2 persons)* and *Turkmenistan (1 person)*.

Indonesia was represented by the regular team and by two guest teams: *Indonesia B* (4 students + 1 leader) and *Indonesia C* (8 students from Riau + 2 leaders).

In addition to the above 16 countries a team from *Russia* (7 students and two leaders) participated as a guest team.

This year Azerbaijan, Qatar and Tajikistan participated in the APhO for the first time.

**2.** The Opening Ceremony was honoured by the presence of His Excellency Vice-President of the Republic of Indonesia Mr. **Jusuf Kalla**. At both Opening and Closing Ceremonies His Excellency the Minister of National Education of the Republic of Indonesia, Prof. Dr. **Bambang Sudibyo** and His Excellency Mr. **Rusli Zainal**, the Governor of Riau were present.

3. Results of marking the papers by the organisers were presented as the following:

- The best score (45.60 points) was achieved by **Li Fang** from China (the Absolute Winner of the 6<sup>th</sup> APhO).
- The second score (45.15 points) by **Han-Hsuan Lin** from Taiwan.
- The third score **Ming-Jie Dai** (44.60 points) from China.

The following limits for awarding the medals and the honourable mention were established according to the Statutes:

Gold Medal	40 points,
• Silver Medal	35 points,
Bronze Medal	29 points,
Honourable Mention	22 points.

According to the above limits 14 Gold Medals, 6 Silver Medals, 13 Bronze Medals and 19 Honourable Mentions were awarded. The list of the scores of the winners and the students awarded with honourable mentions were distributed to all the delegations.

4. In addition to the regular prizes the following special prizes were awarded:

• for the Absolute Winner with 45.60 points:

Li Fang (China)

• for the best result in the theoretical part of the competition with 29.00 points:

Yin-Hsuan Lin (Taiwan)

• for the best result in the experimental part of the competition with 19.15 points:

Han-Hsuan Lin (Taiwan)

• for the best female participant:

**Charmaine Sia Jia Min** (Singapore)

• for the best participant in the foreign guest team:

Ivan Kiselev (Russia)

for the best participants from each new country (Prize created by the President of APhOs)<sup>i</sup>:

Azer Eyvazov	(Azerbaijan)
Mukhtordzhon Soliev	(Tajikistan)
Turki Obaid N.M. Jamaan	(Qatar)

• for the best participant from the host Province (Riau):

**Bambang Dwiputra** (Indonesia C)

• for the youngest participant:

Alexander Afanas'ev (Russia)

**5.** Prof. **Yohanes Surya** presented the last version of the list of the organizers of the next APhOs:

$7^{\text{th}}$	2006	Almaty	Kazakhstan	invitation done
$8^{\text{th}}$	2007	not decided yet	China	not reconfirmed yet
$9^{\text{th}}$	2008	not decided yet	Australia	preliminary contacts
$10^{\text{th}}$	2009	not decided yet	Uzbekistan	?
$11^{\text{th}}$	2010	not decided yet	Malaysia	preliminary contacts
$12^{\text{th}}$	2011	not decided yet	Israel	confirmed
13 <sup>th</sup>	2012	not decided yet	Taiwan	preliminary contacts
$14^{\text{th}}$	2013	not decided yet	Cambodia	preliminary contacts

As the Secretariat of the APhOs has lost contacts with Uzbekistan, certain changes in the above table are possible.

**6.** The International Board has unanimously re-elected Prof. **Yohanes Surya** to the post of President of the Asian Physics Olympiads for the next five years, i.e. to May 2010. The re-election was welcomed by applause.

**7.** Acting on behalf of the organisers of the next Asian Physics Olympiad in Kazakhstan, the Kazakhi delegation announced that the 7<sup>th</sup> Asian Physics Olympiad would be organised in Almaty (Kazakhstan) from April 23<sup>rd</sup> to May 1<sup>st</sup>, 2006 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition. Appropriate brochure was disseminated to all the delegation leaders and observers.

**8.** Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski (Honorary President of the APhOs), acting on behalf of all the Members of the International Board, expressed deep thanks to the Organizers and all other people involved in the works at the Olympiad in Pekanbaru for excellent organisation and execution of the  $6^{th}$  APhO.

Pekanbaru, 1.05.2005



Dr. Rachmat Widodo Adi Chairman of the 6<sup>th</sup> APhO's Organizing Committee

have

*Prof. Ming-Juey Lin Secretary of the APhOs* 

Prof. Yohanes Surya President of the APhOs

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>i</sup> For a mistake not all of these Prizes were mentioned at the Closing Ceremony. The missing diplomas were sent to the students by regular post.