Minutes of the 9th Asian Physics Olympiad Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, April 20-28, 2008

1. The following 18 countries and regions were present at the 9th Asian Physics Olympiad (APhO):

Azerbaijan (6+1), Cambodia (4+2), China (8+2), Hong Kong (8+2), India (3+2), Indonesia (team I: 8+2, team II: 9+2), Israel (8+2), Kazakhstan (8+2), Kyrgyzstan (5+1), Macau (8+1), Mongolia (team I: 8+2, team II: 8), Sri Lanka (7+1), Singapore (8+2), Taiwan(8+2), Tajikistan (2+1), Thailand (8+2), Turkmenistan (4+2), Vietnam (8+2). The first number in parentheses denotes the number of the competitors while the second number denotes the number of the leaders.

2. Results of marking the papers by the organizers were presented:

The best score was 42.7 points achieved by **Ji He** from China (Absolute winner of the 9th APhO). The second best score (41.6 points) was achieved by **Ying-fei Gu** from China. The third best score (41.6 points) was achieved by **Long-Zhi Tan** from China. The following criteria for awarding the medals and honorable mentions were established according to the Statutes:

Gold Medal - 37 Silver Medal - 32 Bronze Medal - 27 Honorable Mention - 20

According to the above criteria 17 Gold Medals, 11 Silver Medals, 17 Bronze Medals and 25 Honorable Mentions were awarded.

The results of the 9th APhO have been distributed to all the delegations.

- 3. In addition to the regular prizes, the following special prizes were awarded:
 - for the absolute winner

Ji He, China

• for the best score in the theoretical part of the competition

Ying-Yu Ho, Taiwan

• for the best score in the experimental part of the competition

Bo-Yu Chu, Taiwan

• for the best score among the female participants

Ye Zhao, Singapore

• for the best participant of the host country (the APhO President's Prize)

Byambajav Namsraijav, Mongolia

4. The President and Secretary of the APhOs presented the current list of countries to host the competitions in the future:

2009 Thailandconfirmed2010 Taiwanconfirmed2011 Israelconfirmed

2012 Cambodia preliminary contact

5. The International Board discussed the proposal made by the leader of Israel, Prof. Eli Raz, suggesting the change of the item #9 of the APhO Statutes which referred to criteria of awarding medals. **The proposal was passed**: total number of members of

the International Board -31; required qualified 2/3 majority of votes -22; number of votes in favor -24.

The item #9 of the APhO Statutes is now revised as follows:

(Note that the blue-marked words were used in the original version and the red-marked ones are the revised wording.)

#9

The marks available for each problem are defined by the organizer of the competition, but the total number of points for the theoretical problems should be 30 and for the experimental 20. The laboratory problems should consist of theoretical analysis (plan and discussion) and experimental execution.

The winners will receive diplomas or honorable mentions in accordance with the number of points obtained after moderation as follows:

The smaller number between the average marks of the top three contestants and the twice of the median of all contestants is considered as 100%.

The contestants who accumulate more than 90% of points receive first prize (diploma). The contestants who accumulate more than 78% but less than 90% receive second prize (diploma).

The contestants who accumulate more than 65% but less than 78% receive third prize (diploma).

The contestants who accumulate more than 50% but less than 65% receive an honorable mention.

The contestants who accumulate less than 50% of points receive certificates of participation in the competition.

The mentioned marks corresponding to 90%, 78%, 65% and 50% should be calculated by rounding off to the nearest lower integers. The participant who obtains the highest score (absolute winner) will receive a special prize and diploma.

Special prizes can be awarded.

- 6. The leader of Indian, Dr. Ravi Bhattacharjee, proposed that future APhOs could be held in early May. Since this proposal was in accord with the #2 of APhO Statutes (... The Asian Physics Olympiad should be conducted not later than two months prior to the International Physics Olympiad.), the President of the APhOs, Prof. Yohanes Surya, urged the future organizers to take it into consideration.
- 7. The President of the APhOs, Prof. Yohanes Surya, invited all of the members of the International Board to stand in silence for one minute in memory of and paying homage to the late Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski and Dr. Rachmat Widodo Adi. Dr. Gorzkowski had been leading International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) for 23 years and helped create the Asian Physics Olympiad. He passed away in Isfahan during the 38th IPhO held in Iran in July, 2007. Dr. Widodo Adi was the organizer of the 6th APhO held in Pekanbaru, Indonesia in 2005 and had contributed greatly to the development

- of APhO. He passed away in Karawachi, Indonesia before the opening of the 9th APhO in Mongolia.
- 8. President of the APhOs, acting on behalf of all the participants, expressed deep thanks to Minister of Education, Culture and Science, **Mrs. Nordov Bolorma**, and President of National University of Mongolia, **Professor Tserensodnom Gantsog**. Deep thanks were also conveyed to Prof. Suren Davaa, Prof. Deleg Sangaa, Prof. Batsukh Garmaa, and their collaborators for excellent preparing and executing of the 9th Asian Physics Olympiad.
- 9. Acting on behalf of the Organizers of the next Asian Physics Olympiad, Secretary General of POSN Foundation in Thailand, Professor Prof. Sakda Siripant, announced that the 10th APhO would be held in Bangkok, Thailand from April 25 to May 3, 2009 and cordially invited all of the participating countries to attend the competition.

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, April 26, 2008

Prof. Yohanes Surya President of the APhOs Prof. Ming-Juey Lin Secretary of the APhOs

Prof. Tserensodnom Gantsog Chairman Organizing Committee of the 9th APhO