Minutes of the 11th Asian Physics Olympiad Taipei, Taiwan, April 23-May 1, 2010

1. The following 16 countries and regions were present at the 11th Asian Physics Olympiad (APhO):

Australia (8+2), Hong Kong (8+2), India (3+2), Indonesia (team A: 8+2, team B^{*}: 4+1), Israel (8+2), Kazakhstan (8+2), Kyrgyzstan (6+1), Macau (8+2), Malaysia (8+2), Mongolia (8+2), Singapore (8+2), Sri Lanka (8+2), Taiwan (team A: 8+1, team B^{*}: 8+1), Thailand (8+2), Turkmenistan (5+1), Vietnam (8+2).

The first number in parentheses denotes the number of the contestants while the second number denotes the number of the leaders. The total number of contestants including guest teams is 130 (18 female and 112 male).

*: invited as guest teams.

- 2. The Opening Ceremony was honored by presence of Mr. Vincent Siew, the Vice President of Republic of China. He delivered opening remarks in the ceremony. The Respected Guest was welcomed with standing ovation. The Minister of Education, Dr. Ching-ji Wu and the Minister of National Science Council, Dr. Lou-Chuang Lee also gave speeches in the opening ceremony.
- 3. The Closing Ceremony was honored by presence of Mr. Den-Yi Wu, the Premier of Executive Yuan of Republic of China. He delivered closing remarks in the ceremony. The Respected Guest was welcomed with standing ovation.
- 4. Results of marking the papers by the organizers were presented:

The best score was 43.8 points achieved by **Mr. Szu-Po Wang** from Taiwan (Absolute winner of the 11th APhO). The second best score (39.3 points) was achieved by **Mr.** Nai Lun Hsu from Taiwan. The third best score (36.0 points) was achieved by **Mr.** Tzu Ming Hsu from Taiwan. The following criteria for awarding the medals and honorable mentions were established according to the Statutes of APhO:

Gold Medal	- 32
Silver Medal	- 28
Bronze Medal	- 23
Honorable Mention	- 18

According to the above criteria 8 Gold Medals, 7 Silver Medals, 18 Bronze Medals and 33 Honorable Mentions were awarded.

The results of the 11th APhO had been distributed to all the delegations.

- 5. In addition to the regular prizes, the following four special prizes were awarded:
 - for the absolute winner
 - Szu-Po Wang, Taiwan
 - for the best score in the theoretical part of the competition **Szu-Po Wang**, Taiwan
 - for the best score in the experimental part of the competition **Tzu-Ming Hsu**, Taiwan
 - for the best female contestant Ling-Ya Chao, Taiwan

6. The President and Secretary of the APhOs presented the current list of countries which will host APhO in the future:

2011 Israel	confirmed
2012 India	confirmed

- 7. Prof. Yohanes Surya has served as the President of APhO for the last ten years since 2000. He expressed no intention to be reelected and nominated the current Secretary of APhO, Prof. Ming-Juey Lin (Taiwan), as the candidate of the new President of APhO. The International Board unanimously elected Prof. **Ming-Juey Lin** to the post of President of APhO for a term of five years, from May 2010 to May 2015. The Board also unanimously elected Prof. Hendra Johnny Kwee (Indonesia) as the Secretary of APhO for a term of the same period. The International Board expressed deep gratitude to Prof. Yohanes Surya for his great contribution to the creation and development of APhO.
- 8. A proposal regarding the open authorization of commercially reproducing the APhO experimental equipment, raised by the Indonesian delegation, was discussed in the International Board. There were different viewpoints on this issue. No consensus was reached and would be open to further discussions in next Olympiad.
- 9. The President of the APhOs, Prof. Yohanes Surya, acting on behalf of all the participants, expressed deep thanks to Prof. Ming-Juey Lin and his collaborators for excellent preparing and executing of the 11th Asian Physics Olympiad. Deep thanks were also conveyed to Ministry of Education and National Science Council of Taiwan Government.
- 10. Acting on behalf of the Organizers of the next Asian Physics Olympiad, the representative of Israel delegation, Professor Yaron Oz, announced that the 12th APhO would be held in Tel Aviv, Israel from May 1 to 9, 2011 and cordially invited all of the participating countries to attend the competition.

Jaliany Jurys

Prof. Yohanes' Surya President of the APhOs

Ming Frey fin

Prof. Ming-Juey Lin Chairman of Organizing Committee of the 11th APhO

Taipei, Taiwan, April 30, 2010