Minutes of the 17th Asian Physics Olympiad Hong Kong, China, May 1 – 9, 2016

1. A total of 196 students from 26 countries and territories participated in the 2016 Asian Physics Olympiad: Australia (8), Azerbaijan (4), Bangladesh (5), Cambodia (5), China (8), Chinese Taipei (8), Hong Kong A (8), Hong Kong B* (8), India (7), Indonesia (7), Israel (8), Kazakhstan (8), Kyrgyzstan (8), Laos (5), Macao (8), Malaysia (8), Mongolia (8), Nepal (3), Romania* (8), Russia* (8), Saudi Arabia (8), Singapore (8), Sri Lanka (8), Tajikistan (5), Thailand (8), Turkey (8) and Vietnam (8).

The number in parenthesis denotes the number of participants.

- *: invited as a guest team.
- 2. There is a proposal to raise the voluntary fee from US\$ 1000 to US\$2000 to help offsetting cost for future host country. The International Board accepted this proposal.
- 3. The final results of the APhO 2016 were presented to the International Board. The average of the top three contestants is 47.23, and twice of the median of all contestants is 43.2. According to the article #9 of the statutes of the APhO, twice of the median of all contestants is considered as 100%. The thresholds for all awards are
 - 38 point for a gold medal
 - 33 point for a silver medal
 - 28 point for a bronze medal
 - 21 point for honorable mention

According to the above criteria, 22 gold medals, 12 silver medals, 38 bronze medals and 41 honorable mentions were awarded.

- 4. The following special prizes were awarded:
 - Absolute Winner Award : Tiancheng ZHANG (China)
 - Best Performance in Theoretical Examination : Tiancheng ZHANG (China)
 - Best Performance in Experimental Examination : Peng CHEN (China)
 - Association of Asia Pacific Physical Society Award for the Best Male Student: Tiancheng ZHANG (China)
 - Association of Asia Pacific Physical Society Award for the Best Female Student: DINH Tio Huong Thao (Vietnam)
 - Material Research Society of Singapore for Most Creative Solution in Theoretical Examination : Tiancheng ZHANG (China)
 - Material Research Society of Singapore for Most Creative Solution in Experimental Examination: Yang Hong LI (Hong Kong)
 - The Best Solution on Mechanics Problem: Ruixiao YAO (China)
 - Best Hong Kong Student Contestant Award : Wai Ting TAI (Hong Kong)
 - President Special Award : Taosif AHSAN (Bangladesh)

- 5. The International Board would like to thank the following members for help during discussion of theoretical and experimental problems in the following capacity:
 - as the committee members to help rephrase questions if necessary: Prof. Jaan Kalda (Saudi Arabia), Prof. Chia, Chih-Ta (Taiwan) and Prof. Matthew Verdon (Australia).
 - as the committee members to help during moderation: Prof. Eli Raz (Israel), Prof. Paul Lee (Singapore) and Prof. The Khoi Nguyen (Vietnam).
- 6. Prof Michael Wong, representing the academic committee, expressing comments regarding the translation, noting that leaders should avoid adding excessive bolding and/or underlining key phases in translation in the future. He also reminded all leaders to double check all translated papers before handling the paper to be delivered to students.
- 7. Saudi Arabia, which previously offered to host APhO 2017, had withdrawn their offer. However Saudi Arabia agreed to provide US\$ 50,000 to help another country to host APhO 2017. Several countries had been asked to consider hosting APhO 2017, but none had given definitive answer.
- 8. The board proposed to upgrade the status of Russian delegate from guest team to full member of APhO, contingent upon the agreement by the Russian respective authority.
- 9. An optional schedule for shorter version of APhO was discussed and offered as an alternate to future host countries. The proposed schedule is as follow:

1st dayArrival of leaders2nd dayProblems discussion3rd dayProblems discussion

4th day Arrival of students and opening ceremony

5th day Exam 6th day Exam 7th day Excursion 8th day Moderation

9th day Closing and departure

10. Arrangement of future hosting APhO is shown in the following list:

2018 Vietnam confirmed2019 Australia confirmed

11. On behalf of the International Board and all participants, the President of APhO expressed deep thanks to Prof. Michael Wong (the Chairman of Organizing Committee), Prof. Shengwang Du (the Chairman of Academic

Committee) and their colleagues for excellent preparation and executing of the 17th Asian Physics Olympiad. Deep thanks are also conveyed to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, the Education Bureau of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Hong Kong Physical Society, and the Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education for hosting the 17th Asian Physics Olympiad.

Prof. Leong Chuan Kwek President of APhO

Dr. Hendra Kwee Secretary of APhO Prof. Michael Wong Chairman of the 17th APhO Organizing Committee